FREE Software SuperTote Handicapper's Edge Bloodstock Journal Stable Alert
The 4th National Handicapping Championship
Selections, Programs, and PP's Results and Charts Pedigrees and Lifetime Starts APR Online BRISnet Home

Wolfson Nabs Handicapper of the Year Title

Steve Wolfson Jr. and his father, both users, parlayed two strong days into an amazing first and fourth place in the $212,000 Daily Racing Form/NTRA National Handicapping Championship. A member since 1994, Wolfson Jr. was interviewed here in the Handicapping Times back in July, 2002 for his win using Ultimate PPs and Prime Power in the NYRA Saratoga Survivor contest.

2002 Handicapper of the Year Steve Wolfson Jr. awarded his $100,000 check.
"The Ultimate PPs are very helpful in tracking biases and pace scenarios as well as assessing running style and early speed points," Wolfson explained in last year's interview. "I used them in conjunction with DRF PPs. Also, the Prime Power rating serves as another check. I find it helpful to have the input of a scientifically derived analysis to serve as an additional round of evaluation."

Congratulations go out to the Wolfson family for an incredible accomplishment and a superb weekend of handicapping!

The success of members did not end there. Five of the top six finishers over the

course of the two days were BRIS customers. Tim Holland of Midway, KY was a member of last year's winning Keeneland Team, and he finished third in this year's tournament, earning $10,000.
Holland picked up an additional $5,000 by helping the Keeneland team defend it's title by capturing the four-man team prize. Member T. J. Taylor, a Hall of Fame member and a three-time qualifier, was also part of the winning Keeneland team. Other successful members included Rick Palm (5th, $3,000), Ed Dixon (6th overall and a daily prize winner, $4,000), and Dave "the Maven" Gutfreund ($2,000, daily prize winner).

  3 Brisnet members helped Team AutoTote capture the   2nd place Team Prize of $8,000
Six members shared prize winnings in the Match Play contest (head-to-head competition): David Stiles, Monte Engler, Ron Ferguson, Ed De'Ath, Dave Gutreund, and Steve Wolfson Sr.

Steve Wolfson Jr.(left) and his father Steve Wolfson Sr.(right)

Three of the four Handicappers of the Year have been members, and in aggregate, the customers have earned just under $400,000 in the four years of the popular contest.

Congratulations again to all the prize winners. For more information on the incredible success of members, visit

[ Sign-up ] [ Products & Prices ] [ Bookstore ] [ Track Info ]
[ Library ] [ Tech Support ] [ F.A.Q. ] [ Member Services ] [ Contact Us ]

brisnet Copyright 2002 Bloodstock Research Information Services (800) 354-9206