FREE Software SuperTote Handicapper's Edge Bloodstock Journal Stable Alert
The 6th National Handicapping Championship
Selections, Programs, and PP's Results and Charts Pedigrees and Lifetime Starts APR Online BRISnet Home

Brisnet Members Dominate NHC VI Top Twenty
Michelson Wins; Members Capture $376,000 of $412,400 in Prize Money

Brisnet member James Michelson Jr. captures DRF/NTRA National Handicapping Championship VI 

Brisnet member James Michelson Jr. earned the title of 2005 Handicapper of the Year, defeating 213 contestants to win the sixth annual Daily Racing Form/NTRA National Handicapping Championship (NHC) contested January 21-22nd, 2005 at Bally's racebook in Las Vegas. Michelson won the championship's $200,000 grand prize just two years after his life long friend and fellow Brisnet member Steve Wolfson Jr. accomplished the same feat at NHC IV in 2003.

Michelson, a 38-year-old advertising account director from West Bloomfield, Michigan, qualified for this year's tournament last August. He received the $200,000 Grand Prize for bankrolling $240.40 in mythical money during the two days of play.

"To beat all these people is just mind-blowing," said Michelson, who was a close fifth after the first day. "Some days you pick horses and they all run backwards, but this was one of those days when they won. I didn't think I could get lucky two days in a row."

Players made 30 mythical $2 win-and-place bets at seven tracks. Michelson's total was $31.60 ahead of his closest rival, which was enough to give him the largest margin of victory ever in the NHC. During his speech at the post-contest awards ceremony at Bally's on Saturday night, Michelson mentioned that Brisnet information assisted him in his win.

Brisnet customers dominated the leader board throughout the two-day competition. Seventeen members placed in the top 20 and nine were in the top 10.

Michael Conway (Glencoe, Illinois), took the $75,000 second-place prize for totaling $208.80 in his bankroll. Conway also led the Twin Spires Club team to a win in the NHC team championship. The winning team split a prize of $15,000.

Michael Elsass, part of Churchill Downs #2 team, rounded out the top three with $205.40 in his bankroll, earning $30,000 for third-place. Damian Roncevich (Honolulu, Hawaii), finished day one in second place and hung around the leaderboard the entire contest to eventually finish fifth place. Roncevich took home $10,000 in prize money.

Other Brisnet members finishing in the top 10 included Bill Shurman, who was the day one leader and sixth overall; Richard Gaetano and David Kassmier, who tied for seventh; ninth-place finisher Don Sullivan; and 10th-place finisher Calvin Manns. The sixth through 10th-place finishers each won $5,000 in prize money. A total of $20,000 ($10,000 a day) was also offered to the top daily finishers. Shurman took home Friday's daily top prize of $5,000, with Roncevich receiving $3,000 for second, and Conway earning $2,000 for third. Brisnet members Elsass and Justin Carey won $3,000 and $2,000, respectively, for second- and third-place daily prizes on Saturday.

 2005 Brisnet Team Members Jeffrey Blaylock (right) & Pete Colwell (center) with Harry Furlong of BRIS Marketing.  (The 3rd team member, Florence Rotman is not pictured)

Team, which consisted of Florence Rotman, Pete Colwell and Jeffrey Blaylock put in a valiant effort in the tournament to finish 29th among the 70 teams. is now home to all six Handicappers of the Year. For the 2005 tournament, members captured an impressive $376,000 of the $412,400 in prize money. In the six years the popular contest has been conducted, Brisnet members have won well over a million dollars!

Brisnet congratulates all its members who were winners this year and wishes them continued success in the future.


Placing   Name   Prize Money
1st   James Michelson Jr.   $200,000
2nd   Michael Conway   82,000**
3rd   Michael Elsass   33,000*
5th   Damian Roncevich   13,000*
6th   Bill Shurman   10,000*
7th   Richard Gaetano   5,000
8th   David Kassmier   5,000
9th   Don Sullivan   5,000
10th   Calvin Manns   5,000
11th   Kent Meyer   2,000
13th   William Haliziw   2,000
14th   Larry Moore   2,000
15th   Isaac Schultz   2,000
16th   Justin Carey   4,000*
18th   Donald Fritz   2,000
19th   Ron Geary   2,000
20th   David Gutfreund   2,000

* Daily Prize Winner
** Daily Prize Winner & Team Winner

[ Sign-up ] [ Products & Prices ] [ Bookstore ] [ Track Info ]
[ Library ] [ Tech Support ] [ F.A.Q. ] [ Member Services ] [ Contact Us ]

brisnet Copyright 2002 Bloodstock Research Information Services (800) 354-9206