December 1, 2021

Wise Dan, Mucho Macho Man contenders for NTRA’s Moment of the Year

Last updated: 12/13/13 1:12 PM

Wise Dan, Mucho Macho Man contenders for NTRA’s Moment of
the Year

Online voting is now open at the National Thoroughbred
Racing Association (NTRA) website,, for the 15th annual NTRA Moment of the Year. Voters
may choose
from 12 of the most indelible memories witnessed in 2013. The winning moment
will be recognized on January 18 during the Eclipse Awards ceremony at
Gulfstream Park in Hallandale Beach, Florida.

Those that vote for the eventual winner automatically will
be entered in a random drawing to win a $100 gift certificate for Breeders’ Cup

To vote for the 15th annual NTRA Moment of the Year, click

The eligible moments were selected to illustrate a wide
range of human emotions and achievements as well as outstanding displays of
equine athleticism. Listed chronologically, the events that fans can choose from

  • Hall of Fame jockey Gary Stevens rides his first winner
    in North America since 2005 aboard Branding in the first race at Santa Anita.
    (January 12)
  • Spicer Cub bolts around the parked starting gate along
    the outside rail and still nearly wins at Pimlico, losing by a nose.
    (April 13)
  • Orb wins the Kentucky Derby for Hall of Fame trainer Shug
    McGaughey and owners Stuart Janney III and Dinny Phipps. (May 4)
  • Oxbow wins the Preakness Stakes, giving Hall of Fame
    trainer D. Wayne Lukas his sixth win in the Triple Crown’s middle jewel and
    50-year-old Hall of Fame jockey Gary Stevens his third. (May 18)
  • Paynter, after battling back from life-threatening
    illness the year before, returns to the races to win an allowance at
    Hollywood Park. (June 14)
  • Hall of Fame jockey Russell Baze becomes the first North
    American rider to reach the 12,000-win milestone aboard Handful of Pearls at the
    Alameda County Fair at Pleasanton. (July 7)
  • Ken & Sarah Ramsey win three major Grade 1 turf stakes —
    the Secretariat (Admiral Kitten), Sword Dancer (Big Blue Kitten) and
    Arlington Million (Real Solution) — at two different tracks in less than two
    hours. (August 17)
  • Will Take Charge barely gets up to beat front-running
    Moreno by a nose in the $1 million Travers at Saratoga. (August 24)
  • Retired jockey Ramon Dominguez is presented with the Mike Venezia Award, as well as the 2012 Eclipse Award trophy for
    outstanding jockey
    he was unable to accept last January, during a ceremony in the Saratoga winner’s
    circle. (August 25)
  • Five-year-old mare Mizdirection beats males in the
    Breeders’ Cup Turf Sprint for the second straight year in her final career
    start. (November 2)
  • Wise Dan wins the 2013 Breeders’ Cup Mile for the second
    straight year, capping a season that will likely be recognized with a repeat
    Eclipse Award for Horse of the Year. (November 2)
  • Mucho Macho Man wins the $5 million Breeders’ Cup Classic
    by a nose for jockey Gary Stevens, trainer Kathy Ritvo and owners Reeves
    Thoroughbred Racing. (November 2)

  • The first-ever “NTRA Moment of the Year” was the touching
    scene between Charismatic and jockey Chris Antley following the 1999 Belmont
    Stakes. The next year’s winner was the stretch run of the 2000 Breeders’ Cup
    Classic, which saw Tiznow hold on for a dramatic victory against Giant’s
    Causeway. Tiznow won again the following year as fans selected his stirring
    repeat victory in the Classic over Sakhee.

    In 2002, fans cited the passing of
    the last living Triple Crown winner, Seattle Slew. In 2003, the popular Kentucky
    Derby win by Funny Cide was selected. Birdstone’s upset win in the Belmont
    Stakes over Smarty Jones took down top honors for 2004. In 2005, fans selected
    Afleet Alex’s spectacular victory in the 2005 Preakness Stakes.

    Voters in 2006
    chose Barbaro’s gallant struggle to recover from his Preakness injury while at
    the New Bolton Center. The 2007 Moment of the Year was a historic victory by
    filly Rags to Riches over Curlin in the Belmont Stakes. In 2008, it was
    Zenyatta’s win in the Breeders’ Cup Ladies’ Classic. Zenyatta “repeated” in 2009
    as fans selected her triumph in the Breeders’ Cup Classic.

    In 2010, fans selected Blame’s narrow Breeders’ Cup Classic
    victory over Zenyatta. Drosselmeyer’s hard-fought win over Game on Dude in the
    Breeders’ Cup Classic was the public’s choice for 2011. Last year, the recovery
    of Haskell Invitational winner Paynter from near-deadly battles with laminitis
    and colitis captured the hearts of voters like no other story.

    “The Eclipse Awards recognizes champions, whereas the NTRA
    Moment of the Year is about a singular occasion etched into our collective
    memory,” said Keith Chamblin, NTRA senior vice president. “Fans deserve a voice
    and this is their chance to tell us what they will never forget from this
    exhilarating and emotional year of racing.”

    Fans 18 years and older can register to vote online at There is a limit of one vote per valid email address. Multiple
    votes from the same email address will be disqualified. Votes must be received
    by 11:59 p.m. (EST) on January 2.

    Bet Horseracing Free Online at