July 20, 2024

Finalists announced for 2017 Eclipse Awards

Finalists for the 2017 Eclipse Awards were announced at noon (EDT) on Friday by the three voting entities: the National Thoroughbred Racing Association (NTRA), Daily Racing Form (DRF), and the National Turf Writers and Broadcasters (NTWAB). Winners will be announced on the evening of January 25 at Gulfstream Park.

Of the 269 eligible voters, 250 participated. Finalists are determined in each category by voters’ top three selections, using a 10-5-1 point basis, but winners are determined solely by first-place votes.

The finalists in each category listed in alphabetical order:

Horse of the Year: Arrogate, Gun Runner, World Approval

Two-Year-Old Male: Bolt d’Oro, Good Magic, Solomini

Two-Year-Old Filly: Caledonia Road, Moonshine Memories, Rushing Fall

Three-Year-Old Male: Always Dreaming, Battle of Midway, West Coast

Three-Year-Old Filly: Abel Tasman, Elate, Unique Bella

Older Dirt Male: Arrogate, Collected, Gun Runner

Older Dirt Female: Forever Unbridled, Songbird, Stellar Wind

Male Sprinter: Imperial Hint, Mind Your Biscuits, Roy H

Female Sprinter: Bar of Gold, Paulassilverlining, Unique Bella

Male Turf Horse: Beach Patrol, Talismanic, World Approval

Female Turf Horse: Lady Eli, Off Limits, Wuheida

Steeplechase Horse: All the Way Jose, Mr. Hot Stuff, Scorpiancer

Owner: Godolphin Racing LLC, Juddmonte Farms, Winchell Thoroughbreds & Three Chimneys Farm

Breeder: Besilu Stables LLC, Clearsky Farms, WinStar Farm, LLC

Trainer: Steve Asmussen, Bob Baffert, Chad Brown

Jockey: Javier Castellano, Jose Ortiz, Mike Smith

Apprentice Jockey: Katie Clawson, Hector Rafael Diaz Jr., Evin A. Roman

In addition to the 17 equine and human categories, Eclipse Awards will also presented to owner-breeder and racetrack owner Frank Stronach (Eclipse Award of Merit), Ray Arsenault (2017 Horseplayer of the Year), and to the media for coverage in six categories.