April 25, 2018

NYRA summer stakes schedules focus on big days at Belmont, Saratoga

Saratoga Race Course (c) NYRA/Susie Raisher/Adam Coglianese Photography

In keeping with a trend in recent years, the stakes schedules for Belmont Park’s spring/summer meet and the Saratoga season are both weighted toward big events.

Belmont Park begins its 54-day run on Friday, April 27, and offers 62 stakes races worth a total of $19.3 million.

The 150th Belmont S. (G1) is once again the anchor of a three-stakes festival, culminating in the June 9 card featuring eight graded stakes, five of them Grade 1s, in the lead-up to the $1.5 million “Test of the Champion.” The meeting’s first Grade 1, the May 12 Man o’ War, has received a purse boost to $700,000, and highlights a lucrative program including the Peter Pan (G3) as a Belmont Stakes prep.  July 7 brings the Stars and Stripes Festival, best known for luring international contenders to the Belmont Derby (G1) and Oaks (G1).

The 40-day Saratoga stand, opening on July 20 and closing Labor Day, boasts a slate of 69 stakes worth $18.8 million. The Spa meet is punctuated by two particularly lucrative days, August 4 centering upon the Whitney (G1), and the August 25 blockbuster revolving around the 149th Travers (G1), the “Midsummer Derby.”

Here are the complete stakes schedules released by the New York Racing Association:

THE NEW YORK RACING ASSOCIATION
2018 BELMONT SPRING/SUMMER STAKES SCHEDULE
DATE
RACE
GR.
’18 PURSE
AGE
DISTANCE
Fri., Apr. 27
Affirmed Success (NYB)
$100,000
4&UP
6 Furlongs
Sat., Apr. 28
Elusive Quality
$125,000
4&UP
7 Furlongs (T)
Sun., Apr. 29
License Fee
$125,000
F&M 4&UP
6 Furlongs (T)
Fri., May 4
Flat Out
$100,000
4&UP
1 3/8
Kentucky Derby Day
Sat., May 5
Sheepshead Bay
II
$200,000
F&M 4&UP
1 3/8 (Turf)
Sat., May 5
Westchester
III
$200,000
4&UP
1 Mile
Sat., May 5
Fort Marcy
III
$150,000
4 & UP
1  1/8 (Turf)
Sun., May 6
Ruffian
II
$250,000
F&M 4&UP
1  Mile
Man o’ War Stakes Festival
Sat., May 12
Man o’ War
I
$700,000
4&UP
1 3/8 (Turf)
Sat., May 12
Peter Pan
III
$350,000
3YO
1 1/8
Sat., May 12
Beaugay
III
$200,000
F&M 4&UP
1  1/16  (Turf)
Sat., May 12
Vagrancy
III
$200,000
F&M 4&UP
6  1/2 Furlongs
Sat., May 12
Runhappy
 
$150,000
4&UP
6 Furlongs
Sun., May 13
Gold Fever
$100,000
3YO
6 Furlongs
Preakness Day
Sat., May 19
Soaring Softly
III
$100,000
F3YO
7 Furlongs (T)
Sat., May 26
Paradise Creek
$100,000
3YO
7 Furlongs (T)
New York Showcase Day
Mon., May 28
Commentator (NYB)
 
$200,000
3&UP
1 Mile
Mon., May 28
Critical Eye (NYB)
 
$200,000
F&M 3&UP
1 Mile
Mon., May 28
Kingston (NYB)
 
$125,000
3&UP
1 Mile (Turf)
Mon., May 28
Mount Vernon (NYB)
 
$125,000
F&M 3&UP
1 Mile (Turf)
Mon., May 28
Mike Lee (NYB)
 
$125,000
3YO
7 Furlongs
Mon., May 28
Bouwerie (NYB)
 
$125,000
F3YO
7 Furlongs
Sat., June 2
Pennine Ridge
III
$200,000
3YO
1  1/8 (Turf)
Belmont Stakes Racing Festival 
Thurs., June 7
Intercontinental
III
$200,000
F&M 4&UP
7 Furlongs (T)
Thurs., June 7
Wonder Again
III
$200,000
F3YO
1  1/8 (Turf)
Thurs., June 7
Astoria
 
$150,000
F2YO
5 1/2 Furlongs
Fri., June 8
New York
II
$600,000
F&M 4&UP
1 1/4 (Turf)
Fri., June 8
Belmont Gold Cup Invitational
II
$400,000
4&UP
2 Miles (Turf)
Fri., June 8
True North
II
$250,000
4&UP
6 1/2 Furlongs
Fri., June 8
Bed o’ Roses Invitational
III
$250,000
F&M 4&UP
7 Furlongs
Fri., June 8
Tremont
 
$150,000
2YO
5 1/2 Furlongs
Sat., June 9
Belmont Stakes
I
$1,500,000
3YO
1 1/2
Sat., June 9
Metropolitan Handicap
I
$1,200,000
3&UP
1 Mile
Sat., June 9
Woodford Reserve Manhattan
I
$1,000,000
4&UP
1 1/4 (Turf)
Sat., June 9
Ogden Phipps
I
$750,000
F&M 4&UP
1  1/16
Sat., June 9
Acorn
I
$700,000
F3YO
1 Mile
Sat., June 9
Longines Just A Game
I
$700,000
F&M 4&UP
1 Mile (Turf)
Sat., June 9
Woody Stephens
II
$400,000
3YO
7 Furlongs
Sat., June 9
Brooklyn Invitational
II
$400,000
4&UP
1 1/2
Sat., June 9
Jaipur Invitational
II
$400,000
4&UP
6 Furlongs (T)
Sat., June 9
Easy Goer
 
$150,000
3YO
1  1/16
Sun., June 10
Jersey Girl
$150,000
F3YO
6 Furlongs
Sat., June 16
Dancin Renee (NYB)
$100,000
F&M 3&UP
6 Furlongs
Sun., June 17
Poker
III
$300,000
4&UP
1 Mile (Turf)
Sat., June 23
Wild Applause
$100,000
F3YO
1 Mile (Turf)
Sun., June 24
NYSS Cupecoy’s Joy Division
$100,000
F3YO
7 Furlongs (T)
Sun., June 24
NYSS Spectacular Bid Division
$100,000
3YO
7 Furlongs (T)
Sat., June 30
Mother Goose
II
$250,000
F3YO
1  1/16
Sat., June 30
Perfect Sting
$100,000
F&M 4&UP
1 Mile (Turf)
Sun., July 1
Saginaw (NYB)
$100,000
4&UP
1  1/16
Wed., July 4
Manila
$100,000
3YO
1 Mile (Turf)
Fri., July 6
State Dinner
$100,000
4&UP
1  1/16
Stars & Stripes Festival
Sat., July 7
Belmont Derby Invitational
I
$1,200,000
3YO
1 1/4 (Turf)
Sat., July 7
Belmont Oaks Invitational
I
$1,000,000
F3YO
1 1/4 (Turf)
Sat., July 7
Suburban
II
$700,000
4&UP
1  1/4
Sat., July 7
Belmont Sprint Championship
II
$350,000
3&UP
7 Furlongs
Sat., July 7
Dwyer
III
$300,000
3YO
1  Mile
Sun., July 8
Victory Ride
III
$150,000
F3YO
6  1/2 Furlongs
Sun., July 8
River Memories
$100,000
F&M 4&UP
1 1/2 (Turf)
Sat., July 14
Forbidden Apple
$150,000
4&UP
1 Mile (Turf)
Sat., July 14
Rockville Centre (NYB)
$100,000
2YO
6 Furlongs
Sun., July 15
Lynbrook (NYB)
$100,000
F2YO
6 Furlongs

 

THE NEW YORK RACING ASSOCIATION
2018 SARATOGA STAKES SCHEDULE
DATE
RACE
GR.
PURSE
AGE
DISTANCE
Opening weekend
Fri., July. 20
Schuylerville
III
$150,000
F2YO
6 Furlongs
Lake George
III
$150,000
F3YO
1 1/16 (Turf)
Sat., July. 21
Diana
I
$500,000
F&M 3&UP
1 1/8 (Turf)
Sanford
III
$150,000
2YO
6 Furlongs
Sun., July 22
Coaching Club American Oaks
I
$300,000
F3YO
1 1/8
Mon., July. 23
Caress
$200,000
F&M 4&UP
5 1/2 (Turf)
Week 2
Wed., July. 25
Honorable Miss Hdcp.
II
$200,000
F&M 3&UP
6 Furlongs
Thurs., July. 26
A. P. Smithwick Mem. (S’Chase)
I
$150,000
4&UP
2 1/16 (Turf)
John Morrissey (NYB)
$100,000
3&UP
6 1/2 Furlongs
Fri., July. 27
Curlin
$100,000
3YO
1  1/8
Sat., July. 28
Jim Dandy
II
$600,000
3YO
1 1/8
Alfred G. Vanderbilt Hdcp.
I
$350,000
3&UP
6 Furlongs
Bowling Green
II
$250,000
4&UP
1 3/8 (Turf)
Amsterdam
III
$200,000
3YO
6 1/2 Furlongs
Sun., July. 29
Shuvee Hdcp.
III
$200,000
F&M 3&UP
1 1/8
Mon., July. 30
Coronation Cup
$100,000
F3YO
5 1/2 (Turf)
Week 3
Wed., Aug. 1
Shine Again
$100,000
F&M 3&UP
7 Furlongs
Thurs., Aug. 2
Birdstone
$100,000
3&UP
1 3/4
Fri., Aug. 3
Nat’l Museum of Racing Hall Of Fame
II
$200,000
3YO
1 1/16 (Turf)
Sat., Aug. 4
Whitney
I
$1,200,000
3&UP
1 1/8
Longines Test
I
$500,000
F3YO
7 Furlongs
Waya
III
$200,000
F&M 3&UP
1 1/2 (Turf)
Lure
 
$100,000
4&UP
1  1/16 (Turf)
De La Rose
 
$100,000
F&M 4&UP
1 Mile (Turf)
Sun., Aug. 5
Troy
III
$200,000
3&UP
5 1/2 (T)
Alydar
$100,000
4&UP
1 1/8
Mon., Aug. 6
NYSS Cab Calloway
 
$100,000
3YO
1 Mile (Turf)
Week 4
Wed., Aug. 8
Quick Call
$100,000
3YO
5 1/2 (Turf)
Thurs., Aug. 9
NYSS Statue of Liberty
 
$100,000
F3YO
1 Mile (Turf)
Fri., Aug. 10
Tale of the Cat
$100,000
3&UP
6 Furlongs
Sat., Aug. 11
Fourstardave Hdcp.
I
$500,000
3&UP
1 Mile (Turf)
Adirondack
II
$200,000
F2YO
6 1/2 Furlongs
Sun., Aug. 12
Saratoga Special, presented by Miller Lite
II
$200,000
2YO
6 1/2 Furlongs
Mon., Aug. 13
Saratoga Dew (NYB)
$100,000
F&M 3&UP
1 1/8
Week 5
Wed., Aug. 15
Bolton Landing
$100,000
F2YO
5 1/2 (Turf)
Thurs., Aug. 16
Union Avenue (NYB)
$100,000
F&M 3&UP
6 1/2 Furlongs
Fri., Aug. 17
Skidmore
$100,000
2YO
5 1/2 (Turf)
Sat., Aug. 18
Alabama
I
$600,000
F3YO
1 1/4
Lake Placid
II
$300,000
F3YO
1 1/8 (Turf)
Sun., Aug. 19
Summer Colony
$100,000
F&M 3&UP
1 1/8
Mon., Aug. 20
Evan Shipman (NYB)
$100,000
3&UP
1 1/8
Week 6
Wed., Aug. 22
John’s Call
$100,000
3&UP
1 5/8 (Turf)
Thurs., Aug 23
Riskaverse
$100,000
F3YO
1 Mile (Turf)
New York Turf Writers Cup (S’chase)
I
$150,000
4&UP
2 3/8 (Turf)
Fri., Aug. 24
Albany (NYB)
$250,000
3YO
1 1/8
Fleet Indian (NYB)
$200,000
F3YO
1 1/8
Funny Cide (NYB)
$200,000
2YO
6 1/2 Furlongs
Seeking the Ante (NYB)
$200,000
F2YO
6 1/2 Furlongs
West Point (NYB), presented by Trustco Bank
$150,000
3&UP
1 1/16 (Turf)
Yaddo (NYB)
$150,000
F&M 3&UP
1 1/16 (Turf)
Sat., Aug. 25
Travers
I
$1,250,000
3YO
1 1/4
Sword Dancer
I
$1,000,000
3&UP
1 1/2 (Turf)
Personal Ensign
I
$700,000
F&M 3&UP
1 1/8
Forego
I
$600,000
3&UP
7 Furlongs
Ballerina
I
$500,000
F&M 3&UP
7 Furlongs
H. Allen Jerkens Memorial
I
$500,000
3YO
7 Furlongs
Woodford Reserve Ballston Spa
II
$400,000
F&M 3&UP
1 1/16 (Turf)
Sun., Aug. 26
Smart N Fancy
$100,000
F&M 3&UP
5 1/2 (Turf)
Mon., Aug. 27
Better Talk Now
$100,000
3YO
1 Mile (Turf)
Closing week
Wed., Aug. 29
With Anticipation
III
$150,000
2YO
1  1/16 (Turf)
Thurs., Aug. 30
P. G. Johnson
$100,000
F2YO
1  1/16 (Turf)
Fri., Aug. 31
Lucky Coin
$100,000
4&UP
5 1/2 (Turf)
Sat., Sept. 1
The Woodward
I
$750,000
3&UP
1 1/8
Spinaway
I
$350,000
F2YO
7 Furlongs
Saranac
III
$300,000
3YO
1 1/8 (Turf)
Glens Falls
II
$250,000
F&M 3&UP
1 3/8 (Turf)
Sun., Sept. 2
Prioress
II
$250,000
F3YO
6 Furlongs
Mon., Sept. 3
Hopeful
I
$350,000
2YO
7 Furlongs
Bernard Baruch Hdcp.
II
$250,000
3&UP
1  1/16 (Turf)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*